Great Bend Housing Authority operates a Section 8 assistance program for low-income persons in Great Bend, Kansas that are seeking housing on the private market. Funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), this program assists low-income persons with affordable, decent, safe, and sanitary housing provided the unit passes a physical inspection. Participants pay approximately 30% of their income as rent to the landlord of their choice, with the Great Bend Housing Authority subsidizing the remaining portion.
Rent is approximately 30% of household income, with income limitations as listed below:
1 Person Households
Income Limit - $16,700
2 Person Households
Income Limit - $19,720
3 Person Households
Income Limit - $24,860
4 Person Households
Income Limit - $30,000
WAITING LIST OPEN
Anyone interested in applying for Section 8 housing assistance should download and complete an application to be pre-qualified for the waiting list, or stop by our office at 1101 Kansas Avenue to pick up a paper copy. Assistance is available on a first-come, first-served basis for those who qualify with a limited number of spots available for the program. Feel free to contact our friendly staff if you have any questions about the program: 620-793-7761.
What is the High Rise?The Great Bend Housing Authority owns the High Rise located at 1101 Kansas Ave., Great Bend. The High Rise is a federally funded housing program for people 55 years of age and older, however we can admit 20% of our tenants to those under the age of 55.
How do I apply to live in the High Rise?You must complete and submit an application, along with the following documentation for every member of your household: Original social security cards Original government issued driver's license or photo identification Income verification Pay stubs - last 6 consecutive pay stubs for all adults (18 years of age or older) in your household Child support, alimony, legal separation, and divorce papers
What are the requirements for eligibility?You must meet the income guidelines established by the Dept. of Housing & Urban Development, be 55 years of age or older (20% of our residents can be under age 55), have a good rental history, criminal background, etc.
What if I cannot provide a good rental history?If the applicant is unable to provide 3 years of acceptable rental history from persons not related to the applicant(s), 3 character reference letters will be required by a person not related to the applicant(s) such as former teacher, employer, minister, etc.
How long will it be before I am housed?There is a chance there will be a waiting list for assistance. Ask our friendly staff what the current estimated wait time is.
How much will my rent be?You will pay 30% of your monthly adjusted gross income minus any allowable deductions.
Will I be required to pay a security deposit?Yes, the security deposit you will be required to pay may not exceed the legal limits set by the Kansas Landlord Tenant Act. The GBHA security deposit is currently $500.00.
Can I have a pet?If tenants wish to have a pet they must get written approval from GBHA and pay the pet deposit of $300 in full before the pet is allowed in the building. Only one dog, cat or bird is allowed and cannot weigh more than 25 pounds. Proof must be provided that the pet has had its shots and that it has been spayed or neutered.
Can I have a service animal?Tenants that require a service animal must return our form signed by a doctor specifying that the tenant needs an animal for their medical condition and how that animal will alleviate their symptoms. Proof must be provided that the pet has had its shots, has been spayed or neutered, and the $250 pet deposit will not required. Service animals still must adhere to city code regulations, the City of Great Bend has a “pooper scooper” rule that must be followed.
Is there a limit for overnight guests?Yes GBHA residents can only have overnight guests 14 nights per year and they must notify the office prior to the visit or the following day by 10:00 am so that the nights can be documented in their file. Tenants that allow guests to stay in excess of 14 nights per year will be evicted.
What payment methods can I use to pay my rent?Cash is not accepted. Please understand that all payments must be made in the form of personal check, cashier's check, or money order. This is for your protection as well as ours.
What should I do if anything changes while I am on the waiting list?Be sure to notify our office in writing immediately, especially if your address changes. We want to be able to keep you posted when openings become available.